The student ghosts

Have you heard about the student ghosts in Bahrain?  These are the students who were expelled from the Bahrain Polytechnic but weren’t expelled according to the Deputy CEO, Mohammed Assiri.   According to him, there were only 31 expelled students and he commented, “Information circulating about the number of expelled students lacks accuracy.”  Contrary to his claim, the Bahraini government had previously stated that 47 students had been expelled with 9 others suspended for a year.  Additionally the Bahrain Centre for Human Rights has in their possession copies of the final expulsion letters of 49 students.  Why now change the numbers or is this part the ongoing Orwellian process of obfuscation and fact-changing?
Additionally, despite government media statements saying that many expelled students will be reinstated in the new academic year (though obviously not the ghosts!) there has been no information to the students as to the procedures for their reinstatement.
The Bahrain Centre for Human Rights “believes that the Bahraini authorities’ actions of delaying and excluding expelled students from being reinstated, their lack of transparency in announcing the actual numbers of expelled students as well as their refusal to admit that violations have taken place in the students’ right to education, does not support the basis needed for reconciliation and return of things back to normal, which could be an omen of the violations reoccurring.”
One of the expelled students described her situation as follows.  “ I and other expelled students tried to look for other universities in Bahrain that can accept us, but we found that there is no place for us in any of them. Most universities are either owned by the Royal family or just do not want any problems by accepting students who were accused of being politically active.
Learning more about my rights as a human made me stronger after I felt that all doors were shut in front of me. I have learned that I have a lot of rights that I should fight for. Unlike my regime that fights peaceful protestors by guns and bullets, I believe that education will be a more effective weapon that can destroy any evil in my country. My expulsion was actually a privilege for me as it made me aware that education in Bahrain is corrupted and just serving the government. Now I believe that it is time for me to look for an opportunity of studying at any other institute that can develop my intellectual abilities and teach me more about my rights as a human. A place that will give me as much as it will benefit from having one of the top students of Bahrain who is eager for studying, has a solid ground of knowledge that makes her able to raise competition levels in any place she studies at, and a student who gives back to the community, as shown in my certificates of appreciation.”

Leave a Reply

